5,4,3,2,1… GO

Ok, so I can’t take credit for this idea because it is from Mel Robbins, check out her TedTalk here and the podcast that I learned this from here. Seriously guys, LIFE. CHANGING.

I’m discovering that I can apply this rule to absolutely anything in my life and it’s supremely helpful. Getting stuff done, working on binge eating, making plans, stopping pressing snooze.. You name it!

Here is the essence of the rule broken down:
When you know you need to do something (ie: make a phone call, go workout, get out of bed, reply to that e-mail, write a blog post..) you simply count down in your head or aloud 5,4,3,2,1– AND GO DO IT. No second guessing, no debating with yourself. You just fucking do IT! (excuse my language).

In her book she describes the science behind it including interrupting those thought patterns that typically send you into procrastination, or a binging, or anxiety. You are able to essentially re-wire your brain and start training yourself to develop new habits- namely being a badass go getter.

I know this sounds incredibly simple. It is. But that doesn’t make it easy. It’s all about ignoring how you “feel” about the said thing you need to do and just doing it. Once I learned that it really changed the game. I realized I was really holding myself back from only doing things when I “felt” like doing them. Of course I don’t feel like working out most days, or making doctors appointments, or hopping out of bed when my alarm goes off. But put aside your feelings, count down from 5- and GO!

I recognize that feelings are important and we should always notice them, but that doesn’t mean that even though you “feel” like staying in bed all day that you should. And just because you don’t “feel” like working out, means that you just let yourself off the hook and sit on the couch all night. When you have goals, and things you want to achieve- you are going to have to do things when you don’t feel like doing them! 

This can also work in reverse for when you find yourself doing something you “shouldn’t” be doing. (I tend to avoid using statements like should, and shouldn’t.. but you know what I mean). Let’s say you are about to drive to the store for all out out binge-fest. Buy everything you’ve been craving. Deep down, you know that this isn’t really going to help anything. What’s been working for me has been counting 5,4,3,2,1- BREATHE. And just try to relax my body, because when I get wound up and ready to go into “binge mode” I’m usually not deep breathing or relaxing at all. So I breathe, listen to my thoughts and go do something else instead.

So, take a listen to the podcast, and read the book because she is amazing! It is the simplest tip in the world, which is why I think it works so well. Try out it out today on that thing you’ve been avoiding. Deep breathe– 5,4,3,2,1— GO!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

