How to reduce alcohol consumption!

Hello beautiful readers!

If you know me in real life, you’ll know that I love my wine. Is there anything better than a glass of vino and long chats by the fire, or a glass while you cook? Maybe wine isn’t your cup of tea and you’d rather unwind with a beer, cider or cocktail. Either way, alcohol for most us is part of a social routine. It’s easy to fall back on alcohol for lubricant in social situations and it can easily become a habit. As I began a new relationship I definitely noticed I was drinking a lot more because it’s so lovely to sit down with your partner and a glass of wine and snuggle up– before you know it the whole bottle is gone! (Just me? Awkward).

As part of my “no sugar” week I also tried to reduce my wine consumption. You’ll know I’m all about that balance so eliminating it completely didn’t seem sustainable for me. I’ve been keeping it under 1-2 glasses per week for a few weeks now and I’m honestly shocked at how much better I feel, leaner I feel, and stronger I feel in the gym. (This may be obvious, but I never really drank more than 1-2 glasses in a sitting so I didn’t think it was affecting me that much). I’ve picked up some tips along the way that really help ease your way into reducing alcohol and still feeling like you are part of the party!

Step 1: Volunteer to be the designated driver. This ones obvious, but once you are hooked into that its automatically easier to say no and not get persuaded into have a glass or two. Plus everyone loves having a driver!

Step 2: Bring something to drink instead. This one was huge! I think the whole thing about drinking is feeling social, and part of the group. If you are sitting there with nothing to drink you feel awkward and out of place. I’ve been bringing Kombucha, or Perrier and lemon to social gatherings and filling a wine glass with that instead. I honestly don’t feel like I’m missing out on a thing! Or you can make a wine spritzer and cut your wine intake in half by mixing half and half with Perrier/ ice. Just a tip: skip the Green Kombucha unless you want to get a whole lot of weird looks and comments about why you are drinking some sort of green slime (… me on Thanksgiving).

Step 3: Figure out your “Why”. This is so key. If you don’t have a strong reason for anything you do it’s so easy to question yourself or get persuaded by peer pressure. At first when I tried reducing wine it was HARD and I just sat there feeling uncomfortable wondering why I didn’t just have a glass. What the harm? This is where our thinking gets us into trouble. I know that if I had “just a glass” every time everyone around me was drinking in the past few weeks it would have added up big time. After I made it through the first week and felt AMAZING it made it so much easier to stick to my guns. I honestly haven’t been craving it at all and after the weekend I was sooo excited to get back to no sugar and no wine. (Truly). If you are getting excited about health changes and the difference you are seeing in your energy, sleep, and body- THAT is when the huge changes happen, because it no longer takes effort. We are creating new habits! So I encourage you to figure out WHY the heck you are doing this or the first to put a little pressure on you will make all the sense in the world.

Step 4: Give it a try. Set a goal for a certain period of time- perhaps 1 week to start. Or 2 glasses of wine in a week to start like I did, so you don’t feel totally left out of the social situations. I’ve realized in the past few weeks that if your goal is weight loss, or improving your physique- giving up the booze makes an insane difference. I’ve always felt great about where my body is at if I’m drinking moderately, but I’m amazed at the difference giving it up makes. I was listening to a great podcast the other day on alcohol, and I think we need to be honest with ourself what our goals are. If you really want to see results, you may need to make a few more sacrifices, and I think alcohol should be the first to do when you want to buckle down. Make lots of room for NUTRITION and filling foods in your diet to feel your absolute best!

Hope you enjoyed this post, let me know if you have ever tried giving up alcohol before. How did it feel? What worked for you?

 

Tara

Leave a Reply

