Sugar Detox Details

How is my sugar detox going you may be wondering? Wellll…. Take this tip from me and actually throw out all the sugar in your house before you start like I said I was going to- or you may find yourself headfirst in it on a stressful day 2. So yeah, I lasted about a day. BUT I just kept on keeping on so I’m still going for my week straight and doing my best each day!

A few people after hearing me talk about sugar in hidden sources have asked what does cutting out sugar actually entail? Well, you can start with just cutting out the obvious sources like cookies, ice-cream, sweets, sugar in your coffee and all that.

I’m (attempting) to take it one step further by eliminating all added sugars in any foods- even the ones you least suspect! For example, I went to a dinner at my parents on Monday night and there was sugar in the Spring Rolls & Chips that my mom put out as a snack, as well as in the salad dressing. Basically- you need to become a food label detective and check every label:

nutrition-facts-panel-example
Anything that has a food label and has “Sugars” in it- that is an added sugar.

The only exception to this rule is the natural sugar lactose that will be in Milk products- PROVIDED they are plain (vanilla is not plain) with no flavouring. Check the ingredients to ensure there are no hidden sugars. Here is the list of names sugar goes by:

Cane juice, Dehydrated cane juice, Cane juice solids, Cane juice crystals, Dextrin, Maltodextrin, Dextran, Barley malt, Beet sugar, Corn syrup, Corn syrup solids, Caramel, Buttered syrup, Carob syrup, Brown sugar, Date sugar, Malt syrup, Diatase, Diatastic malt, Fruit juice, Fruit juice concentrate, Dehydrated fruit juice, Fruit juice crystals, Golden syrup, Turbinado,  Sorghum syrup, Refiner’s syrup, Ethyl maltol, Maple syrup, Yellow sugar

Anything ending is “-ose”: Sucrose, Maltose, Dextrose, Fructose, Glucose, Galactose, Lactose, High fructose corn syrup, Glucose solids.

If any of these appear in the ingredients- the item has sugar in it! I’m also talking about honey, and agave, and any other natural sweetener or fake sweetener (even Stevia). Now as you check around your house and see that there is probably sugar in everything you are eating- what the heck do you EAT!?

Well, there is actually a TON of stuff, but you are gonna have to get your booty in the kitchen! Making your own fresh meals, & snacks is key. I love Whole30 recipes, paleo recipes, or 21 Day Sugar Detox recipes to start. You have to be vigilant about checking labels and then going from there. I highly recommending even just starting to check labels and keep your sugar intake under 25g per day (this is the minimum we should ALL be at). It can also be added to breads, savoury items, fat free items, and basically anything processed.

This can be a super eye-opening experiment but can be awesome when you start feeling the effects of weaning off sugar.

As for me, I had a glass of wine last night at my boyfriends birthday dinner, but aside from that I’m continuing on my sugar free journey for at least a week. It’s forcing me to examine my anxiety as well since I can’t cover it up with food.
The best tip I’ve started doing this week is whenever I have that niggly anxiety I open up the notes app on my phone and quickly type out whatever is bothering me in the moment. I do find this quite soothing to identify where the anxiety is coming from and realize that there is something I CAN do to abate it- or even that there’s nothing I can do and there is no point in being anxious. It’s key for me to recognize those thoughts and feelings to lead to binging- this sugar experiment has already been super helpful.

Anyone else noticing anything a few days in? Let me know if you want to do the sugar free thing with me for a week and we can support each other via facebook or text!

Tara

 

Leave a Reply

