The Beauty of Balance

When I was younger I always remember my parents saying “Everything in Moderation!” and it took me a long time to understand what that meant.
I’ve always been a very black & white, perfectionist, all or nothing kinda girl. I’m either doing working out for 3-4 hours a  day or I’m binge watching Netflix and taking zero steps out of my bed.

I’ve found this to be a common theme my whole life. I’ve always managed to kind of take it one step farther in either direction. I push myself too hard to injury or burn out, and then I’m unable to keep it up and end up doing nothing. I’ve never understood the concept of balance as it applies to eating, working out, life.

I think this problem applies to a lot of people. Probably not the degree that I’ve struggled with finding balance but perhaps sometimes. Do you ever find yourself following a diet perfectly for a week or so, giving in to some chocolate and feeling like you “ruined” that day and so you continue to keep indulging? Do you workout consistently for 3 weeks and then miss a few days and feel like you can never get back on “track”? Do you try to cut out all alcohol in a sudden fit of health, and then find yourself on a bender a few weekends later?

I believe that there is this myth out there that in order to achieve goals you need to be extreme. If you want to lose weight you need to cut out all sugar and carbs and never enjoy a slice of cake. If you want to get fitter you need to work out for that magical “hour” every day.

It took me a LONG time to realize that this is simply untrue. In fact, the people that practice moderation and balance are much more successful in their chosen endeavours. What if you could just do small things.. Sometimes? Would you see results? YES! You could work out for 20 minutes, or an 45, or whatever you have time for. It’s still going to help you reach your goals. You could go for a quick walk around the block instead of watching another episode on Netflix. You could have an apple for a snack and later on have some chocolate.

I think we need to stop going to extremes. We need to find a way to make fitness and health a priority in our lifestyles without letting it BE our life.

I encourage you to think about balance today. Is your work/life/friends balanced? Is your eating balanced? Are you nourishing yourself with healthy foods and still enjoying some wine in there too? Is your exercised balanced? Which way could you tip the scales a little?

Lately I have felt that my work/life has been very unbalanced. I’m prepared to continue this because I love my career more than anything, but I’m making positive steps to spend more time with friends and book vacations and make sure I spend a little time each day doing something for me in the midst of working. I used to be very unbalanced in my eating and exercise, but recovery from bulimia and also this back injury has really turned that around. I can finally say that I enjoy all foods in MODERATION. If I eat a bowl of ice-cream it doesn’t turn into a day of unhealthy eating. I just move on. I walk and strength train and do what I can without pushing my back past what it can handle.

I think everyone can benefit from finding balance in their life one way or the other! What do you feel like you could improve on today?

Leave a Reply

